cat checking out my new Epson 2880 photo printer
To my faithful three viewers, who might be wondering how the honeymoon is going with my wide-format Epson 2880…
I received my new printer on the 4th of August, just as the UPS website promised. When I checked Tuesday morning, and it was marked “out for delivery”, I was chomping at the bit and pacing the floor until it arrived.
It was larger than I imagined from the photos; obviously it needs to be large, since it prints 19″ wide and the foot (once extended) is fairly long to accommodate those poster sized prints, 30-40″ in length.
I wasn’t able to test drive it until Joe got home that night, because my kids’ naps didn’t synchronize themselves as they usually do. The large box sitting in the living room probably helped to keep their curiosity piqued and their fatigue suppressed.
While I waited, I read the entire owner’s manual (except for the foreign bits). I also installed the hardware, and completed the basic set-up of the machine: hooking it to the dining-room computer, plopping in the cartridges..

When Joe came home, he fashioned a make-shift “desK” for it, from one of our end-tables. I selected my scan of ‘US Army Cat’ for my first test print. The original had sold on eBay, but I didn’t have any copies yet for sale. The printer performed above and beyond my expectations. Like a new car, it was strangely quiet and didn’t thrash the table at all or devour the paper. Basically, as Joe pointed out bluntly, it behaved like an expensive printer SHOULD, and not like those $50.00 junk printers you buy from
discount retailers.

The print quality in particular was exceptional. It faithfully rendered every brushstroke and nuance of color in Army Cat, and every subsequent painting I tested. When I tested it with “Clergy Cat” and held it side by side to the original, there wasn’t a noticeable difference… except that my original paintings tend to have multiple paint layers from covering up my mistakes!! 😀
So basically, the print looked BETTER!! As only the top layer is scanned and printed, you can’t see all the lumps and bumps of uneven paint. It’s more polished. And of course, little touch-ups for stray marks in Photoshop doesn’t hurt either.

I’m printing right now with Ultra Premium Presentation Paper (which is high quality photo paper, used for wedding and portrait photos) and also on heavier Velvet Fine Art paper, which is textured. I’m looking forward to making another investment in some canvas rolls (as this printer supports both canvas fabric AND rolls) to create some 16″x20″ stretched canvas, hand-embellished prints.
But first, I’ll need to research “how to stretch a canvas”. LOL

So far, I haven’t had any malfunctions with the printer, as some unfortunately have according to reviews. It seemed to me, however, after reading the manual… the the majority of the complaints were written by folks who obviously had NOT read it first. They apparently wanted to print directly out of the box; I’ll bet they also get spare screws and wing-nuts in their furniture kits too.
One person on Amazon said his printer began a self-cleaning mode immediately after switching the power on, and it wasted half his ink?! Cleaning modes are carefully
described in the manual, and they are done manually by request. So he pushed something.
They also do NOT waste half of your ink when allowed to cycle through properly. But if he triggered it into repeating a cycle or two, well then…

I’m not experiencing the “huge drain” of ink, although my prior research prepared me for a 20-30 print capability on one set of ink cartridges, using the higher settings.
That seems to be the case with mine…. for professional artists and photographers, who resell their work for $10, $15, $25 and more, the cost of ink and paper will be a deciding factor in their mark-up. Just like my costs for outsourcing and shipping.

I definitely would not recommend this for personal, printing-at-home use if you’re not planning to re-sell your photos or art prints. It would be more cost effective to take your personal photographs to a developer or outsource them to www.adoramapix.com.

I’ve noticed, however, that having this printer is feeding into my natural inclination to “slack off” creatively, because I can always fall back upon printing older works.

In the past, when I outsourced, I couldn’t afford to place an order every time I completed a painting or photo-manip, or I’d be ordering 10-20 of the same print (large orders being necessary if you don’t want the shipping charges to bite your butt). Therefore, I would rush to complete multiple pieces every couple weeks, allowing me to order 2-3 prints of each one. While I was waiting 2 weeks for them to arrive, I would be pushing myself to create more.

I need to keep that momentum going, to continue creating and selling new works…

I’m almost finished with my Donna Reed-esque housewife cat, with the original going to eBay; prints will be coming very soon!!

