I should probably be updating my two readers on the status of our recent move, and how we’re settling in… The landlord did provide us with another stove and refrigerator. Joe is painting the walls, and has plans to build a floor-to-ceiling bookcase in the dining room, which has now transformed itself into my art studio. We were originally going to utilize it for the children’s play area, but the entire house has been taken over by toys, and we haven’t had the manpower to defeat them and force their retreat. So, art studio it is. We have yet to get neighbors for the upstairs half, although the landlord has been showing the place to a steady stream of prospects. The layout was so unconventional and cramped, I can understand the hesitation. Fortunately, both were vacant when we signed our lease, so we were able to choose the space better suited to us. 🙂
We were actually musing about purchasing the entire building from our landlord, if he continues to encounter problems renting. I’ve developed a bit of a crush on this house, even though it IS ungodly outdated and not without it’s share of faults. There is much character in this place, from the glass-panelled French doors in the dining room, to the 10′ high ceilings and knotty, pine cabinets. We’ll think about it, when renewing our lease, if all goes well and we want to stay. It would be nice to convert the entire house back into a single-family residence, as it was intended to be.
My maternity leave officially ended on Saturday, and I’ve returned to work two days per week: Thursdays and Saturdays. Although it was odd at first getting accustomed to a new, lower-grade position, it was also incredibly liberating. I didn’t sense a loss that some claim to feel when being voluntarily demoted. I don’t judge myself by my 9-to-5 job status, but rather by goals I’ve set for myself. Currently, I’m steadily reaching my milestones in this creative business venture to become a full-time artist. I hope, by the end of this year, to be making enough money through my art sales to consider myself self-supporting and therefore feel less guilty about quitting my part-time job altogether. I’m enjoying the time I spend with my family, although most days I find myself glued to the computer for hours; working on my websites, networking, or creating digital art. I feel particularly guilty doing this, but at least there is communication and companionship to be shared, even though I may not always be giving them my undivided attention. I can easily attend to their needs, and take (many!) breaks throughout the day to be with them. Most of the time, Jacob is napping on my lap! Can’t ask for a better job than that. Juggling family and work, now that I primarily work from home, is a challenge that I’m working to overcome.
I have so many irons in the fire at this moment, project wise, and I can’t seem to get caught up. I’m excited however about two latest projects – my handmade greeting cards, each featuring a photo of my art, and my regency cat portraits. I’ve started with Dominic as a British “red coat” soldier, and will be adding gentlemen and ladies to the collection soon! You can check out my progress on my Facebook fanpage. I’ve uploaded pictures to share with my fans!
I’ve also decided to begin a weekly series on Etsy sellers whose shops catch my eye.This will also, hopefully, help me to keep focused on updating this blog for my two dear readers. 🙂
So, I am off to a clean page in Notepad to write my first Etsy Seller promo!

